The Difference Between 19.84% and 20% Blood Loss!

What is the difference and why should you care?

I will tell you. The difference is whether you get a transfusion or you are left to grow those little red blood cells yourself. Which is like watching water boil, when you forget to turn on the burner. 

You should care because if you ever find yourself in this predicament (having lost 19.86% of your blood instead of the required 20%) I strongly urge you to punch yourself in the nose. The pain will be worth the long time period of feeling brain dead and being so tired you have to pinch yourself just to know you’re still among the living.

The back story is insane but long story short, I’d been bleeding internally for two months and instead of looking in the mirror and seeing my pale skin as an indication of my health (or linking it to my nearly passing out everywhere I went) I added more foundation till I looked like Tan-Mom and told myself to try harder. Try harder to get the house clean, keep the kids entertained and write on little writer. Never mind my vision going or the numbing of my limbs. I was a trooper and sure it was my hard life making me weary nothing more. I did not know I was half dead. Or would that be 19.86% dead? Not sure but I was a walking, dysfunctional, hot mess! 

In my defense, I didn’t have enough cogs turning in my oxygen deprived brain to figure all this out. Nor did I have money for the insurance co-pay. I was saving for my daughter’s new glasses. She had been without them all summer. It was right before school and I was determined to get them for her. Cha-ching! I almost became a martyr of my own life. 

I tried to keep up my social networking but lost my drive. I stopped reading altogether! My children would point out how tired I look all the time and I would look in the mirror and think, more foundation.

My parents came to see me and in true grandparent form they paid for my daughter’s back-to-school needs. Unbeknownst to them, they saved my life. I had an appointment with a Doctor in less than 24 hours (after speaking with an advise nurse) easily paying the co-pay with my unspoken for cash. The doctor fixed me up with an “easy” outpatient procedure and in two days I was on the mend. “On the mend” being the slowest process in the known world.  

 I watched a million documentaries and stared holes in my walls. I chose one piece of writing and worked through blurry eyes to accomplish my goals.  They diagnosed me with Vertigo from the oxygen deprivation, other than that and being tongue tied all the time I am almost back to my old self. 

Thank you all for your patients and support!

Image

~DyslexicWhisper Kellee Bishop Farr

6 comments on “The Difference Between 19.84% and 20% Blood Loss!

  1. Oh dear! I am so glad you made it! How scary. It seems our lives are kind of parallel, I spent three hours a week this summer getting iron infusions. Let the good times roll! Oh the bruises on my arm, I could start a photo collection of all my IV bruises. Thanks again for the Sunshine award, I read your responses, they were great. I will try to do them myself one of these days…when I have a minute…

  2. Dammit, Marietta tells me nothing, well I guess I don’t talk to her that much so, Dammit! My mom tells me nothing. So glad you’re doing better!!!!

Leave a Reply

